2016-2017 MAHU Board of Directors

Do you have what it take to serve on the MAHU Board of Directors? Download a Nomination Form

 Board Member Portal


Immediate Past President 

Co-Chair, Legislative Committee


Bob Stein

Employee Benefits Corporation 

bob.stein@ebcflex.com | 651-686-5903


Bob serves as Marketing Representative at Employee Benefits Corporation (formerly Benefits Design Group) which focuses on Third Party Administration (TPA) specializing in Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA), Health Reimbursement Arrangements (HRA) and COBRA Administration. Prior to joining Employee Benefits Corporation, Bob was managing a district office for a voluntary group benefits company. From 1986-1992 Bob lived and worked in North Dakota as a licensed health agent in the personal and small group health and life insurance market. Bob joined the Minnesota Association of Health Underwriters (MAHU) many years ago and is currently involved with the Legislative Committee educating our legislators about the importance of Licensed Insurance Professionals in the insurance industry. Bob has recently been awarded the Five Star Professional Award for Business Insurance and Benefits Professionals.





Chair, Professional Development Committee, 


Shawnee Christenson

Crosstown Insurance 

Shawnee@crosstowninsurance.com | 952-926-2644

Shawnee Christenson graduated from the University of MN with a BA in Sociology in 2004.  After graduating college worked as an independent agent with Bankers Life and Casualty and then InsuranceSmart before opening her own health insurance agency in 2012.  She is married with 2 children. She has been active in MAHU on the professional development committee and realizes how vital the work that MAHU does as an organization is crucial to the success of her business and the ability for her to help her clients for many years to come.




President Elect 

Marie Bell
DeRuyter Associates
marie@deruyterassociates.com | 612-436-3760

Marie is co-owner of DeRuyter-Bell, LLC, an independent insurance agency. Originally from North Minneapolis, she graduated from the University of Wisconsin – LaCrosse with a B.S. degree Economics and Public Administration. After the birth of her first child in 1988 she began working for Al DeRuyter, who at that time was a life and disability insurance agent working with business owners. Their agency grew to include 401(k) retirement plans and insured employee benefits eventually concentrating on employee benefits. The clientele consists of small to medium sized businesses all over the State of Minnesota. Marie lives in Minnetonka with her husband and two grown children. She has been a member of MAHU for more than 20 years and currently serves on the MAHU Professional Development Committee.



Dan Boulay

(more info coming soon)


Director - Chair, Membership Committee

Richard Lett
LeClair Group

Richard is the CEO of LeClair Group. He believes that paying attention to people and their needs is the key to success. Richard believes that LeClair Group customers are three fold: clients, associates, and community. Richard brings a long history of leadership to LeClair Group, and has unique understanding of risk management. Richard served for 30 years with the Metropolitan Police in London, otherwise known as Scotland Yard. He was a member of SO14, Royalty Protection Services. He also planned, implemented and delivered major UK and international protection operations, including commanding the VIP Protections Operations for Central London during the 2012 Olympic Games. Richard was made a member of the Royal Victorian Order (MVO) by Queen Elizabeth II. Shortly after retiring from his first career, Richard followed his American wife to Minnesota, where he has found a second career with LeClair Group.



Tori Libertini

(More Info coming soon)


Director - 

Andy Wayt

(More Info coming soon)


Director - 

Joshua Haberman

(More Info coming soon)


Director - 

Jennifer Steinbaugh

(More Info coming soon)


Director - 

Chair, Sponsorship Committee

Randy Nelson

(More Info coming soon)





Fride Mauritzen
Preferred One
fride.mauritzen@preferredone.com 763-847-4012         


Fride is currently a Sr. Small Group Sales Representative at PreferredOne, working with brokers in MN, WI and ND. She has worked in the insurance and financial services industries for 18+ years. Fride has been a MAHU member since 2004 and received the honor of the David LeClair award in 2009. When vacationing, she loves seeing the world or visiting family in Norway. 







Executive Director


Heidi Mathson 
1320 Insurance Advisors 


heidi@1320Advisors.com | 763-205-3270


Heidi is an insurance broker with specializing in health, disability, and long term care insurance. Heidi has deep knowledge on issues related to Medicare, Health Reform, and group insurance. She designs employee benefits programs for business clients and also helps individuals and families plan for all health insurance needs. Heidi was appointed by Governor Dayton to serve on the Health Industry Advisory Committee to the MNSure Board.  In 2007, Heidi was appointed to the Minnesota Board on Aging by Governor Tim Pawlenty.  Heidi began her career in 1985 working with annuities and investments with American Express, Wells Fargo, and Allianz. She has been a MAHU member since 2006 and has been active with the Legislative Committee.  


MAHU Past Presidents

2016-17 Bob Stein

2015-2016 Heidi  Mathson

2014-2015 Matt Feran

2013-2014 Alycia Riedl

2012-2013 Cary Rothschild

2011-2012 Gregory Dattilo, CEBS, CFP

2010-2011 Thomas Aslesen

2009-2010 Greg Sailer

2008-2009 Margaret LeClair

2007-2008 Roger B. Jorgensen

2006-2007 Mark D. Waltman

2005-2006 Clark Fischer

2004-2005 Kris Nicol

2003-2004 Thomas Devine

2002-2003 Sandra Schlaefer, RHU

2001-2002 Diane B. Lysen

2000-2001 Sharon L. Konieczny, CLU

1999-2000 Judye M. Fawver

1998-1999 John A. Korby, Sr.

1997-1998 Marian J. Carpenter-Guyot

1996-1997 Kimberly A. Thompson

1995-1996 Lynn R. Peterson, RHU, REBC

1994-1995 Patrick S. Williams

1993-1994 T. Michael Quinn, LUTCF

1992-1993 Karli Dunkelberger

1991-1992 James C. Johnson

1990-1991 Debbie Sorensen, RHU, REBC

1989-1990 Diana L. Tortelli, RHU

1988-1989 Charles J. Blomme, CLU, RHU

1987-1988 Phillip J. Kenney, RHU, ChFC

1986-1987 Dennis R. Stolp, RHU, LUTCF

1985-1986 John A. Linngren, RHU

1984-1985 David D. LeClair, RHU

1983-1984 David Sultan, RHU

1982-1983 Lawrence A. Becking, CLU, RHU

1981-1982 Eugene D. Schmidt, RHU

1980-1981 C. Douglas Borrell, RHU

1979-1980 Keith E. Hilgendorf

1978-1979 James P. McCarty

1977-1978 Arthur L. Gilbertson

1976-1977 William R. Boyles, CLU, RHU